[Week 6] Fixing media library Entity Browser

Hello Drupalers!

You must have already read my introduction blog post about the media module for Drupal 8 on which I was working on with Janez Urevc (​slashrsm) and Tadej Baša (​paranojik) under Google Summer Of Code 2016.

Last week I wrote a blog post about the media library which we had finished. I also posted a video showing a demo of the module.

This week I fixed a couple of issues we found in our Entity Browser and Library Views. You can see this week’s pull request here. I’ll briefly discuss the issues which I fixed:

1) Fixing permissions: There were few problems with the permissions required to access the view. This is now fixed.
2) Adding widgets to EB: Earlier the entity browser only had two widgets. I added two more widgets for “My Media” and “Add Video” this week.
3) Gallery uses EB: To create slideshows, one can just select media from the Entity browser widgets. It is simpler to create slideshows now.
4) Updated Gallery tests: Since the way gallery is being created was changed, I had to update the tests to support entity browser.
5) Media bundle machine name: I updated the patch for the media_entity module bug where it showed an option to edit the machine name of existing bundles.

The next task to finish on the list is to add a media bundle for Document. We want the users to easily upload and manage their document files. We’ll be using the media_entity_document module for that. The document PR is available here. I still need to write suitable tests for it. I’ll be finishing the tests this week.

I’ll be posting more updates next week! Stay tuned!

:)

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

[Week 5] Media library and midterm results

Hello everyone! I had previously written a blog post about the media module for Drupal 8 on which I was working on with Janez Urevc (slashrsm) and Tadej Baša (paranojik) under Google Summer Of Code 2016. This week we finished the media... Continue →